A week in Quarantine

July 1, 2020: My typical day starts with me reading news, mostly these days on coronavirus. I don’t know about you, but I am just addicted to news. Now, I am quite bad at calculations but hasn’t the number doubled from June 1? – from news channels, telling that there are a few ‘isolated’ cases to entire communities groups being affected. 🤷

July 2: My mother has given me specific instructions to mop the floor because she either finds me sitting in front of the laptop or curled up my phone. So, I guess mopping the floor is my mother’s way of making me exercise. I start mopping and somehow the place looks even dirtier by the time I started. I am even proud of the narrow stream of water going down the stairs – our house has our very own river. But, of course my mother fails to understand this piece of art and lectures me about a whole bunch of things…

July 3: My favorite place in the whole house is my bedroom window overlooking the road below. Now, I think this road is perhaps, one of the busiest roads in Durgapur. You can actually see the sheer variety of people down there. When the lockdown was lifted, you could see dozens of people, begging on the streets, most of the people were those that served in our neighborhood. Thinking about all these things, I heard a big wedding band marching its way out from our neighbours (and they didn’t even invite me 😐 ). The big fat Indian wedding – saviour of all these jobs! Life should go on, even if it means you are not a part of it.

July 4: My mother has decided I need a new haircut. And by new, I think this is the third haircut I have received since lockdown started. I think anyone with a sharp pair of scissors and my bushy, curly hair would find it irresistible – like shearing a sheep, but then it’s me. By the time she’s finished I actually feel pretty good – who’s going to be looking at me now, right ?

July 5: Most of the people these days are bored or depressed these days. Good quality entertainment is so hard . With no more usual material for gossip, it’s has become very difficult to survive. A friend calls – at least she has some good news and some gossip. I can live with that even it means I get that less than once a week.

July 6: I had uninstalled WhatsApp from my phone – my last remaining mode of communication with the outside world. People actually started calling me. I had to reinstall it from my meager daily quota of 1.5GB – which I use to watch at least 2 full length movies. Lesson learned: Do not uninstall WhatsApp in the middle of a pandemic. If you do, people will simply assume that something is wrong with you.

July 7: The thing that I hate the most about being in quarantine is the fact that I cannot get to eat my favourite things – favourite, being all the greasy and unhealthy stuff that you should avoid. Now, I should further mention that my house not only overlooks one of the busiest roads, but also a number of food stalls. So, not only I have to sit and watch at good food inches away from me, but also people coming up from all over the place and carting away the food.

I’ll leave it at that. I hope your week was loads better.

Leave a comment