Another Boring Graduation Story

I started thinking about my graduation day, at the beginning of third year actually. That is because I hated the place and I couldn’t wait to get out and impress the whole wide world, with my wide and diverse skillset. Unfortunately, no one seemed to think that I would be a good fit. So, I was in my hostel room, But my roommate pointed out there would be many things to look forward to, like, for instance, good food. Also, you could confess to your crush and run away because you are not potentially going to meet that person in this world or next (Yeah, that’s not my story – don’t get excited).

So, from the thrilling tales of how graduation day is supposed to be I pictured my very own. I thought about graduation caps being thrown in the air (okay, that’s stretching even the optimistic imagination considering our college) and all of us crying our eyes out of how we would miss each other. But, atleast, we have got a decent photo of our class, right ?? Not because I am going to remember you or anything, but I am going to be looking keenly about how well you age. And whether your plus one, really stays your plus one (insert smirk here)😜

And then the pandemic came. And, with that came loads of free time. And I thought to myself – aaaah, this is my time to shine! Woohoo! I would optimise all my time and energy and become healthy, wealthy and wise. But none of that happened. So instead of cursing at all people, I would actually scroll down my mobile, gazing fondly at the pixelated versions of people. Nostalgia, right ?

And then when it hit me, gaawd, I really had a blast college, didn’t I ? I mean if only I had “optimized” my time at college and done a few other things, maybe I would have learnt some extra life lessons?

Who knows ?

[Read this too : This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places and incidents either are products of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual events or locales or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental.]

Leave a comment